June 2015 Book Haul


Books, books, and more books! Here are the books that I have gotten for myself this month and upcoming reviews that you can look forward too. First up is The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh.

Title: The Wrath and the Dawn 
Series: Wrath and the Dawn Series Book 1

Author: Renee Ahdieh

Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group

Synopsis:
The Wrath & The Dawn is a lush retelling of 1001 Nights. It follows Shahrzad as she seeks revenge for the murder of her best friend by The Monster King of Khorasan, Khalid.

Every dawn brings horror to a different family in a land ruled by a killer. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, takes a new bride each night only to have her executed at sunrise. So it is a suspicious surprise when sixteen-year-old Shahrzad volunteers to marry Khalid. But she does so with a clever plan to stay alive and exact revenge on the Caliph for the murder of her best friend and countless other girls. Shazi’s wit and will, indeed, get her through to the dawn that no others have seen, but with a catch . . . she’s falling in love with the very boy who killed her dearest friend.

She discovers that the murderous boy-king is not all that he seems and neither are the deaths of so many girls. Shazi is determined to uncover the reason for the murders and to break the cycle once and for all.



After reading the synopsis of this book I knew that I had to get it. I have started this book and so far it is very interesting. So far the details and the way the author has created her world is beyond what I could ever imagine. There is some magic in the book but I am not sure how the magic is created in the world. Hopefully the book will later explain it.

The next book that I will added to my reading list is A Court of Thorn and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. Just to let you all know I am obsessed with the tale of Beauty and the Beast and when I saw this book I had to add it to my bookshelf!

 


Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses 
Series: Court of Thorns and Roses Series Book 1

Author: Sarah J. Maas 

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA

Synopsis:
A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.


As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

The cover alone grabbed my attention and by having this story be a retelling of Beauty and the Best, all in all, this book is a win. I can’t wait to read this book and its even a trilogy!

Another book that I went ahead and got was The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski. This is the second book to the Winner’s Curse trilogy. I have been waiting for this book! The first book, The Winner’s Curse, was amazing and if you haven’t read it yet I have no idea what you are waiting for.

Title: The Winner’s Crime 
Series: The Winner’s Trilogy Series Book 1

Author: Marie Rutkoski

Publisher: Farrar, Straus, and Giroux

Synopsis:
Book two of the dazzling Winner’s Trilogy is a fight to the death as Kestrel risks betrayal of country for love.

The engagement of Lady Kestrel to Valoria’s crown prince means one celebration after another. But to Kestrel it means living in a cage of her own making. As the wedding approaches, she aches to tell Arin the truth about her engagement… if she could only trust him. Yet can she even trust herself? For—unknown to Arin—Kestrel is becoming a skilled practitioner of deceit: an anonymous spy passing information to Herran, and close to uncovering a shocking secret.

As Arin enlists dangerous allies in the struggle to keep his country’s freedom, he can’t fight the suspicion that Kestrel knows more than she shows. In the end, it might not be a dagger in the dark that cuts him open, but the truth. And when that happens, Kestrel and Arin learn just how much their crimes will cost them.

I hope this book is either as good or better than the first. I have very high expectations for this author since her first book was beautiful.

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir is a book that I hear a lot of people talking about and every time I seem to go into the book store it is in my face telling me to buy it. So I broke down and got the book.

Title: An Ember in the Ashes 
Series: An Ember in the Ashes Series Book 1
Author: Sabaa Tahir 
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group

Synopsis:

Laia is a slave. 

 

Elias is a soldier. 

 

Neither is free.
 

Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those who do not vow their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk the execution of their loved ones and the destruction of all they hold dear.

It is in this brutal world, inspired by ancient Rome, that Laia lives with her grandparents and older brother. The family ekes out an existence in the Empire’s impoverished backstreets. They do not challenge the Empire. They’ve seen what happens to those who do.

But when Laia’s brother is arrested for treason, Laia is forced to make a decision. In exchange for help from rebels who promise to rescue her brother, she will risk her life to spy for them from within the Empire’s greatest military academy.

There, Laia meets Elias, the school’s finest soldier—and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias wants only to be free of the tyranny he’s being trained to enforce. He and Laia will soon realize that their destinies are intertwined—and that their choices will change the fate of the Empire itself.”

I was told that this book is like “The Hunger Games” which is another reason why I went and got the book. I am very curious to see how this book is and how the plot plays out.
Overall, this seems like an interesting book haul! I will be posting reviews as I finish the books so stay tuned!
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s