Review of If I Stay by Gayle Forman


Title: If I Stay
Series: If I Stay Series Book 1
Author: Gayle Forman
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group

Synopsis:
Just listen, Adam says with a voice that sounds like shrapnel.

I open my eyes wide now.
I sit up as much as I can.
And I listen.

Stay, he says.


Choices. Seventeen-year-old Mia is faced with some tough ones: Stay true to her first love—music—even if it means losing her boyfriend and leaving her family and friends behind?
    Then one February morning Mia goes for a drive with her family, and in an instant, everything changes. Suddenly, all the choices are gone, except one. And it’s the only one that matters.
    If I Stay is a heartachingly beautiful book about the power of love, the true meaning of family, and the choices we all make.


Rating: I will be giving this a book 4 out of 5 stars. This book put me through something no book has done. The main characters situation and how she pulls through is what really stood out to me. The choices that Mia makes were difficult but the way the author address them and the subject of life and death was done very well. Throughout the book the author goes from the past to the present but it all flows together well and I was able to understand why the author decided to put a memory in a certain part of the book. The only thing that I did not like was from time to time I found myself skimming the book. Other than that it is a great book for anyone who is looking for something that is contemporary, has music in it, romance, and talks about death then you should pick this book up.

BookBooth is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i[‘GoogleAnalyticsObject’]=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){ (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,’script’,’//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js’,’ga’); ga(‘create’, ‘UA-65298493-1’, ‘auto’); ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’); http://wms-na.amazon-adsystem.com/20070822/US/js/link-enhancer-common.js?tag=book070e-20&linkId=DL6D7ROZTR54XASA

Leave a Reply

