Review of Solarversia by Toby Downton

I was fortunate enough to receive this book as an ebook in advance from Toby Downton. Thank you Toby for giving me the opportunity to review your book before its release date.

Title: Solarversia: The Year Long Game
Author: Toby Downton 

Synopsis:
Solarversia is the story of an epic year-long game played by 100 million people inside a virtual world modelled on the real world Solar System. Given three lives, three vehicles, and told to master The Science of Solarversia to stand a chance of winning, players compete for the £10m grand prize, and the chance to help design the next game, starting in 2024.

Nova Negrahnu and her friends Burner and Sushi cannot wait to start playing. But when an international terrorist organisation sets its sights on the game and it’s creator, Nova finds her life turned upside down, as the line between simulation and reality blurs. Can she navigate between playing the game, coping with all the issues an eighteen-year-old girl faces and avoid the very real and present danger mounting outside Solaversia?

Rating: I will be giving this book a 1 out of 5 stars. When I first received this book from Mr. Downton, I was so excited. I thought this book was going to be like Sword Art Online, but I was wrong. In the beginning I had such a hard time relating to the characters as well as getting immersed in the book. There was also a lot of parts in the book where I got lost and had to re-read the sentence or paragraph. In the end I was not able to finish the book because I had such a hard time relating to the characters and following along in the book. This book wasn’t my cup of tea, but it might be yours.

Leave a Reply

