August Book Club Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Hello Book Club,
I hope everyone is ready to start talking about our book for this month, Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. I will start by posting an overview of what I thought of the book. I will try not to give any spoilers away for the pople who have not yet read the book. With that being said, those who have not read the book I am warning you now that spoilers might come up in the comments below. If you do not wish to preview the spoilers avert your eyes from the comment section. Ok, now that some of the house keeping is out of the way lets start Book Club!

Title: Red Queen 
Series: Red Queen Series Book 1
Author: Victoria Aveyard
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishing Group

Synopsis:  
The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers. 

To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change. 

Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the center of those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control. 

But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win?

Rating: I will be giving this book a 3 out of 5 stars. I feel there was a lot of hype and excitement on this book, because of that I had very high expectations for this book and I almost feel as though I was let down a little. There were some twists that I did not see coming but overall, I saw most of them and had a hard time finishing this book. I kept picking it up and putting it down. In some cases I even got bored with it. Now that the cons of the book are out of the way I want to talk about the pros. I did like the fact that this book was told from one perspective and Mare was someone I felt that I could relate too. Her family was her world and what I liked the best was about her was her personality. I liked the fact that even though she grew up in poverty since her blood was “Red” it didn’t stop her from defying the Silvers and wanting more. I am still not sure if I want to read the second book to this series.


BookBooth is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
Leave a Reply

