Review of Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes

Title: Gathering Darkness
Series: Falling Kingdoms Book 3
Author: Morgan Rhodes

In GATHERING DARKNESS, book three of the New York Times bestselling Falling Kingdoms series, the stakes have never been higher as three teams push forward on a race to find the Kindred, the four elemental crystals possessing ancient all-powerful magic, first:

Prince Magnus has just witnessed torture, death, and miracles during the bloody confrontation that decimated the rebel forces. Now he must choose between family and justice as his father, the cruel King Gaius, sets out to conquer all of Mytica. All Gaius needs now are the Kindred – the four elemental crystals that give godlike powers to their owner. But the King of Blood is not the only one hunting for this ancient, storied magic…

• THE KRAESHIANS join the hunt. Ashur and Amara, the royal siblings from the wealthy kingdom across the Silver Sea, charm and manipulate their way to the Kindred, proving to be more ruthless than perhaps even the King of Blood himself.

• THE REBELS forge ahead. Princess Cleo and vengeful Jonas lead them, slaying with sweetness, skill, and a secret that can control Lucia’s overpowering magic – all so they can use the Kindred to win back their fallen kingdoms.

• THE WATCHERS follow Melenia out of the Sanctuary. They ally in the flesh with King Gaius, who vows to use Lucia’s powers to unveil the Kindred.

The only certainty in the dark times is that whoever finds the magic first will control the fate of Mytica… but fate can be fickle when magic is involved.

Rating: I will be giving this book a 5 out of 5 stars. I truly loved this book, it kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time. Just as I thought this book series couldn’t get any better, this author blew me away! I have fallen in love with the writing style as well as the character development within this book. The world building only grows and not all truths are told as lies and deceptions unfold. My mind was blown, especially towards the last 100 pages. There were a lot of twists and turns that I did not see coming and my emotions, again were being put to the test with this book. This series has the readers, in my personal opinion, so engulfed with the characters and their emotions that I felt for theses characters. This book will not disappoint you in any way, shape, or form. If you are reading this and you have yet to pick up this series I strongly suggest you do. This series has been amazing so far and I can not wait to see what else unfold for the characters. In case you want to see the review of Falling Kingdoms and Rebel Spring, click the name of the books and it will take you directly to the review. 

BookBooth is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s